Press Release •  1/4/2019

FFA Chapters Bring Their “A” Game in Pioneer® Brand A-Series Soybeans Big A Challenge

Something went wrong. Please try again later...

15 FFA chapters selected to decorate Big A statues for 2019 Farm Progress Show

JOHNSTON, IA — Fifteen Iowa and Illinois FFA chapters will showcase their creativity in the Pioneer® brand A-Series soybeans Big A Challenge, with their masterpieces displayed at the 2019 Farm Progress Show in Decatur, Ill.

A judging panel selected the top 15 chapters in the collaboration between Pioneer and FFA that focuses on the next generation of soybean varieties and the next generation of growers. Each chapter will bring a unique perspective to decorating a seven-foot-tall Big A statue, highlighting A-Series soybeans’ cutting-edge science and game-changing yield potential while celebrating local communities.

The 15 finalists, which will compete to win up to $2,500 for their chapter, are:

  •  Atlantic FFA — Atlantic, Iowa
  •  Clay City FFA — Clay City, Illinois
  • East Marshall FFA — Le Grand, Iowa
  • Farmington FFA — Farmington, Illinois
  • Maroa Forsyth FFA — Maroa, Illinois
  • Massac County FFA — Metropolis, Illinois
  • Marcus-Meriden-Cleghorn-Remsen-Union (MMCRU) FFA — Marcus, Iowa
  • Mount Ayr FFA — Mount Ayr, Iowa
  • Mulberry Grove FFA — Mulberry Grove, Illinois
  • North Tama FFA — Traer, Iowa
  • Sibley-Ocheyedan FFA — Sibley, Iowa
  • Stewardson-Strasburg FFA — Strasburg, Illinois
  • Wayne FFA — Corydon, Iowa
  • Wilton FFA — Wilton, Iowa

“We are impressed by the creativity from the next generation,” says John Schartman, Pioneer Soybean Category Lead, Corteva Agriscience, Agriculture Division of DowDuPont. “The FFA chapters brought their ‘A’ game to the first round of competition. We’re excited to see how they will tie together A-Series soybeans, the Pioneer spirit and their local community in the final designs.”

FFA chapters were selected based on an essay highlighting how A-Series soybeans benefit farmers and a sample design of their Big A statue. Chapters will decorate the Big A statues through May, with the top three winners awarded prize money — $2,500 for first place, $1,500 for second place and $1,000 for third place — at the 2019 Farm Progress Show. The public also will vote for their favorites on the Pioneer Facebook and Twitter pages, with the winning chapter receiving the People’s Choice Award and a special prize for its members.

Follow #FFAseries on Facebook and Twitter to see the creativity of these FFA chapters.


The Big A Challenge premiered at 2018 Farm Progress Show in Boone, Iowa, with seven Big A statues promoting A-Series soybeans placed around the grounds.

About Pioneer

Pioneer, a business unit of Corteva Agriscience™, the Agriculture Division of DowDuPont, is the world’s leading developer and supplier of advanced plant genetics, providing high-quality seeds to farmers in more than 90 countries. Pioneer provides agronomic support and services to help increase farmer productivity and profitability and strives to develop sustainable agricultural systems for people everywhere. Science with Service Delivering Success®.

Join the discussion and follow Pioneer on Facebook, Twitter and YouTube.


About Corteva Agriscience, Agriculture Division of DowDuPont

Corteva Agriscience, Agriculture Division of DowDuPont (NYSE: DWDP), is intended to become an independent, publicly traded company when the previously announced spinoff is complete by June 2019. The division combines the strengths of DuPont Pioneer, DuPont Crop Protection and Dow AgroSciences. Corteva Agriscience provides growers around the world with the most complete portfolio in the industry — including some of the most recognized brands in agriculture: Pioneer®, Encirca®, the newly launched Brevant seeds, as well as award-winning Crop Protection products — while bringing new products to market through our solid pipeline of active chemistry and technologies. More information can be found at

Follow Corteva Agriscience on Facebook, Instagram, LinkedIn, Twitter and YouTube.



#   #   #

™®Trademarks of Dow AgroSciences, DuPont or Pioneer, and their affiliated companies or their respective owners.

Kacey Birchmier
Corteva Agriscience
Agriculture Division of DowDuPont