Three FFA Chapters Named Finalists in Pioneer® brand A-Series Soybeans Big A Challenge

Something went wrong. Please try again later...

Pioneer will announce the winners at the 2019 Farm Progress Show

JOHNSTON, Iowa  Three FFA chapters have been chosen as finalists in the Big A Challenge, sponsored by Pioneer Hi-Bred International, Inc.. Each chapter wins a cash prize and will have their statues prominently displayed at the 2019 Farm Progress Show in Decatur, Illinois.

Judges selected the Mount Ayr FFA (Mount Ayr, Iowa), North Tama FFA (Traer, Iowa) and Wayne FFA (Corydon, Iowa) chapters as the top three finalists from 15 participating FFA chapters in Iowa and Illinois. The Big A Challenge teamed Pioneer and FFA to focus on Pioneer® brand A-Series soybeans, the next generation of soybean varieties, and the next generation of farmers. The winners, to be announced on Aug. 28 at the Farm Progress Show, will receive $2,500 for first place, $1,500 for second and $1,000 for third. 

Mount Ayr FFA (Mount Ayr, Iowa), North Tama FFA (Traer, Iowa), and Wayne FFA (Corydon, Iowa) chapters named finalists in the Pioneer® brand A-Series Soybeans Big A Challenge and will be recognized at the 2019 Farm Progress Show.

FFA chapters showed their creative talent by decorating a 7-foot-tall Big A statue highlighting A-Series soybeans’ game-changing performance while celebrating their communities. Just as A-Series soybeans are bred using localized research and testing to fit many growing environments, FFA chapters used the Big A statues to showcase what makes their local communities unique. 

Pioneer also would like to congratulate the other 12 chapters participating in the Big A Challenge:

  • Atlantic FFA — Atlantic, Iowa
  • Clay City FFA — Clay City, Illinois
  • East Marshall FFA — LeGrand, Iowa
  • Farmington FFA — Farmington, Illinois
  • Maroa Forsyth FFA — Maroa, Illinois
  • Massac County FFA — Metropolis, Illinois 
  • MMCRU FFA — Marcus, Iowa
  • Mulberry Grove FFA — Mulberry Grove, Illinois
  • Newell-Fonda FFA — Newell, Iowa
  • Sibley-Ocheyedan FFA — Sibley, Iowa
  • Stewardson-Strasburg FFA — Strasburg, Illinois
  • Wilton FFA — Wilton, Iowa

The 15 Big A statues will be displayed at the Farm Progress Show and all 15 FFA chapters are eligible to win the People’s Choice Award. The public will vote online for their favorite Big A statue from Aug. 26-30; voters need not be present at the Farm Progress Show to cast their vote. The winning FFA chapter will receive Pioneer branded items for its members. For a sneak peek at the decorated Big A statues, look for #FFAseries on Facebook and Twitter. 

About Pioneer
Pioneer, a business unit of Corteva Agriscience, is the world’s leading developer and supplier of advanced plant genetics, providing high-quality seeds to farmers in more than 90 countries. Pioneer provides agronomic support and services to help increase farmer productivity and profitability and strives to develop sustainable agricultural systems for people everywhere.

Join the discussion and follow Pioneer on Facebook, Twitter and YouTube.

About Corteva Agriscience
Corteva Agriscience provides farmers around the world with the most complete input portfolio in the industry to enable them to maximize yield and profitability — including some of the most recognized brands in agriculture: Pioneer®, Granular®, Brevant seeds, as well as award-winning Crop Protection products — while bringing new products to market through its robust pipeline of active chemistry and technologies. The company is committed to working with stakeholders throughout the food system as it fulfills its promise to enrich the lives of those who produce and those who consume, ensuring progress for generations to come. Corteva Agriscience became an independent public company on June 1, 2019, and was previously the Agriculture Division of DowDuPont. More information can be found at www.corteva.com.

Follow Corteva Agriscience on FacebookInstagramLinkedInTwitter and YouTube.

#   #   #

® TM SM Trademarks and service marks of Dow AgroSciences, DuPont or Pioneer, and their affiliated companies or their respective owners.

Kacey Birchmier
Corteva Agriscience